Lost

Just because you are over 18, you graduated high school and you are ‘set free’ to go, it doesn’t mean you have to know what you want to be, who you are.

I still don’t know it. I had a huge struggle between choosing the right university and then to have the right job I want. But what I want?

I want to be free, I want to travel, I want to write, I want to read, to speak out loudly, to sing, to dance, to take loads of photos and don’t give a shizz about what people say. I also have even bigger struggle with my body.

Unfortunately, the world in the 21st century is really tough to teenagers/young adults. There are norms for girls and boys.

I can’t travel on my own because my parents are too worried about me: You are a girl, anything can happen to you!

Yes, it can because the world is a dangerous place but it is a place like that because we created it.

Girls have to be pretty, fit, not too clever, talkative, friendly, have a great mood 24/7, shouldn’t swear and be unhappy with their life. Should accept they are women who need their periods to carry a baby one day.

Boys have to be confident, handsome, the leaders, shouldn’t show feelings that often or they will appears as a weak, be better at work than girls, more clever, chasing girls all the time without being called a slut (which goes for girls a lot).

Otherwise, you are a black sheep.

None of us should have a problematic skin, different sexuality or gender, visible emotions, wrong figure, which doesn’t fit the magazine covers and their own minds.

We are the new generation, we changed few norms in the world this year, let’s change more.

Boys can be ‘girly’ and girls can be ‘boyish’. Just be who you are.

You are original, stay original.

Cheers,

Claire xx

2 thoughts on “Lost

Leave a Reply

